NAGE Delegate Vote Recount

Wednesday, 02 August 2006

The ballot recount was the result of a post-election complaint filed with the DOL Election Supervisor.

The outcome of the ballot recount that includes the 24 Alaskan ballots plus the additional 44 eligible ballots is as follows:

members of the NAATS bargaining unit would not be eligible to run for the delegate(s) position(s). After consultations with NAGE and with other DOL officials it was determined that voter and candidate eligibility for this election would be

Delegate- Kate Breen 36* votes Mike Sheldon 17 Doug Rice 8
Peters 1 Alt. Delegate- John Falls 2 votes Mark Jaffe 19 Marc Lackma recount was the result of a post-election complaint filed with the DOL Election Supervisor. The complaint alleged that the rules and procedures established by NAGE and the Department of Labor for delegate elections should not be changed after the rules had been announced. The rules in question were those affecting the eligibility of candidates and the eligibility of members to vote in the election that had been enunciated in the NAGE convention call. Following the June 30, 2006 NLRB election, the DOL Election Supervisor determined that for the NAATS delegate election of July 13, 2006, only NAATS members in Alaska would be considered eligible voters. Additionally, candidates who were no longer

based on the criteria set forth in the NAGE convention call.

http://www.naats.org Powered by Joomla! Generated: 26 September, 2006, 23:21